Party Crasher: Be Brave Luncheon

Theoren Fleury was given the first ever Be Brave Award.

Photography by Terri Belley

Theoren Fleury has carried the Stanley Cup and won Olympic Gold, but on May 28 at the Shaw Conference Centre, he was honoured with the first-ever Be Brave Award. “This represents all the people who haven’t found their voices yet,” said the former Calgary Flames captain, “and we’ll do all we can so that they have courage to find it.” Fleury, a survivor of sexual abuse, spoke before 850 supporters who helped Little Warriors raise $280,000 at its first annual Be Brave Luncheon. Glori Meldrum, founder and chair of the seven-year-old sexual abuse prevention organization, hopes to raise another $2.4 million to establish the Be Brave Ranch, a treatment centre for sexually abused children in Alberta that would be the first of its kind in Canada.

Noah Jones and Glori Meldrum.

T. Marshall Sadd and NAthan Isbister.

Stacey Smyth and Ryan Smyth.

Leigh-Anne Palter and Richard wong.

Chad Knippel and Gordon McCallum.

Karen Cox and Diane Smitten.

Irene Mertz LaBonte and Jane Bereznicki.

Wendy Dugas and Patti Barrow.

John Trapp and Mandy Trapp.

Danielle Lowe, Maureen Adamoski and Vicki Lowe.

Related posts

Where To Find Indian Food After Midnight

Caroline Barlott

Where to Get Sushi and Pho After Midnight

Omar Mouallem

Treasure Hunters

Peter Chapman

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy